quote HEE facebook linkedin twitter bracketDetail search file-download keyboard-arrow-down keyboard-arrow-right close event-note

Return to nursing

NHS organisations across Wessex are recruiting adult nurses who are looking to return to nursing after a period of absence. You will be supported by an NHS trust while you study at Bournemouth University or University of Southampton.


If you have a lapsed Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) registration and would like to be able to re-register and come back to nursing, contact your preferred NHS organisation from the contact lists below for more information.
 

Working with our one of our University partners Bournemouth University or the University of Southampton, an NHS organisation, nursing home or GP practice will support you through both the academic and clinical practice requirements to allow you to re-join the nursing register.

Find out more about the courses

How is the course funded?

From January 2016, the university fees for adult, mental health , child or learning disability nurses will be paid for by Health Education England Wessex and students will receive £500 funding to support access to the placement experience required.

How do I apply?

Make contact with your preferred trust, nursing home or GP surgery via the contacts below for further guidance. You might want to speak to more than one organistion to compare programmes and find one that fits with you. Remember that as well as our acute hospitals,  trusts which provide community health services also provide adult nursing return to practice placements for all nurses and not just mental health and learning disability nursing. You may also want to consider returning to work in primary care as a GP practice nurse.

 

 

Michelle Wheeler returned to nursing at Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Trust after a career break to raise a family.
Play a short video of Michelle’s return to nursing story.
 

Se a collection of videos about Return to Practice at HEE's Youtube Channel

 

Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 
Tel – 01305 254686
Caroline Foot caroline.foot@dchft.nhs.uk
Elaine Hartley elaine.hartley@dchft.nhs.uk

Dorset HealthCare University NHS Foundation Trust 
Tel – 01202 277198
Alex Matutino alex.matutino@dhuft.nhs.uk

Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Tel – 01256 852642
Sharon Goodchild sharon.goodchild@hhft.nhs.uk

Isle of Wight NHS Trust
Tel – 01983 822099 ext 6428 or ext 2433
Sarah Harper – sarah.harper@iow.nhs.uk
Sarah Johnston – sarah.johnston@iow.nhs.uk

Visit the Isle of Wight Return to Nursing web page

Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 
Tel – 01202 448770
Julie Childs julie.childs@poole.nhs.uk

Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Lisa Morgan - lisa.morgan@rbch.nhs.uk

Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
Tel – 023 9228 6000 ext 1186 or ext 4023
Jill Pallister
Scott Hawes
practicebased.learning@porthosp.nhs.uk

 

 

 

 

 

Listen to Lorraine and Claire who returned to nursing on the Isle of Wight

 

Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Tel – 01722 336262 ext 2611
Juliet Borwell – juliet.borwell@salisbury.nhs.uk

Solent NHS Trust 
Tel – 023 80 608867
Kate Then - kate.then@solent.nhs.uk

Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust 
Tel: 02380 475746
Hannah Connell - hannah.connell@southernhealth.nhs.uk

University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
Nicola George
nicola.george@uhs.nhs.uk

General Practice Nurses
Tel – 023 9228 2080
Sue Clarke susan.clarke17@nhs.net

St Michaels Hospice 
Tel – 01256 844744
Basil de Ferranti House
Aldermaston Road
Basingstoke, RG24 9NB
Erika Bowker Erika.bowker@stmichaelshospice.org.uk

 

 

Good luck – the first step is making contact!

 

Do you have any questions about Returning to Nursing in Wessex?  Please email us at: RTP@wessex.hee.nhs.uk.

Looking to return to nursing somewhere else in the country? Find out more about our nationwide Come Back to Nursing campaign.

If you found this content useful you can share it on your favourite social network:

Or just grab the url to share wherever you like:

Related Content

Junior Doctor Advisory Team – Values Based Leadership Conference 2015

On 7 July 2015 the Junior Doctor Advisory Team held their Annual Medical Leadership and Management Conference ‘Values Based Leadership’ at the Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester.

Read more

Celebration of nurses, midwives and health visitors returning to practice

The contribution made by nurses, midwives and health visitors who return to practice in the South West will be highlighted at a special celebration this week.

Read more

Older Person’s Nurse Fellowship-now recruiting

What is the Older Person’s Nurse Fellowship?

Have you the drive and vision to champion excellence in care for older people in your organisation, as well as on a national and international stage?

Read more